Reviews

What people are saying about Detmore House




Quiet Respite in The Cotswolds - Rating 5/5

My father and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Detmore house. The hostess, Gil, was a delight, great cook, and helpful guide for things to do in the local area their home is on a beautifully tranquil spot near Chetleham. The grounds were serene and lovely. Our room was perfect for our needs. I would highly recommend The Detmore house for anyone looking to find a restful weekend in the country.

Response

Thank you for your charming review.

Reviewer:Tiffany B | Sun 14th Apr 2019 | 1 month ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

A great place to stay;warm welcome, comfy and roomy accommodation. Fantastic breakfast. Highly recommend

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs R T | Sun 24th Feb 2019 | 2 months ago


Great location - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house and grounds , very comfortable stay .

Reviewer:Glen G | Thu 31st Jan 2019 | 3 months ago


Cosy week at Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Gill and Hugh were perfect hosts. It was a home away from home. They had an adorable dog called 'Noodle' with whom my son enjoyed playing with. We stayed at the 'Beech' room, which comfortably accomodated our family of three. House was spotlessly clean and well maintained. It's a 7 mins drive to the centre of Cheltenham which worked out well for us as we got to enjoy the fresh air and greenery. All in all highly recommended.

Reviewer:Yakir J | Sun 6th Jan 2019 | 4 months ago


Excellent Night - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in a beautiful location.Our room and bathroom was very clean, the bed was comfortable, the breakfast was excellent.10/10 - our favourite B&B.

Reviewer:George & Barbara H | Tue 11th Dec 2018 | 5 months ago


Graduation - Rating 5/5

Beautiful property with real character. Roomsof a high standard , immaculate presentation. The owner Wes very accommodating as we needed an early start . Breakfast top notch.

Reviewer:david s | Thu 8th Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Running the Cotswold Way - Rating 5/5

Detmore House was a fantastic place to stay after a long day of running from Dursley along the Cotswold Way. We hobbled in cold and tired to a wonderful welcome. The room was extremely comfortable for a good night's rest and the breakfast was amazing and just what we needed for another day of running to finish in Chipping Campden. We would definitely stay here again!

Reviewer:Henry B | Fri 2nd Nov 2018 | 6 months ago


Good quality accommodation- Rating 4/5

Friendly and approachable hosts.Very nice accommodation and a quiet location.Easy to get into Cheltenham.Good breakfast.

Reviewer:Duncan P | Mon 29th Oct 2018 | 6 months ago


excellent short stay - Rating 5/5

We were very happy to spend a very comfortable night in the oak room at Detmore House.The room is very welcoming and the surroundings of fields and the long drive towards the house all add to its charm.We have been several times now and everything has remained the same with thehigh standards. With best wishes

Reviewer:judy E | Mon 15th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


Thanks- Rating 5/5

Lovely guest house I would recommend it to anyone 👍

Reviewer:Michael M | Fri 12th Oct 2018 | 7 months ago


NOT REALLY 5 STAR! - Rating 4/5

A beautiful and large room in a wonderful house. The shower in our room had a number of black mould patches around the base and shower head and the toilet wasn't too clean which is why I believe it do?pm't meet it's 5 stars.....4 would be more appropriate. Although the male owner was fantastic.....polite, helpful etc, his wife was quite the opposite sadly. Very rude and abrupt.....if it wasn't for that she'd be lovely!The breakfast was very good and enjoyable. Not complaining at all, just being honest.

Reviewer:Mark D | Thu 19th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Wonderful Stay - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is a very comfortable place to stay.The room we had was really spacious, immaculate, and beautifully decorated in a modern style.Breakfast was excellent.Since we were walking the Cotswold Way, in the morning Gill showed us how to reconnect with it behind Detmore House.Everything is just perfect there!

Reviewer:Richard & Lucy P | Thu 19th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Great Bed and Breakfast - Rating 5/5

This home is absolutely wonderful. The hosts were so amenable. My room was exceedingly comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious. A plus in all respects.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:BARBARA F | Wed 18th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We requested an early check in and the owners obliged which was a great help.We enjoyed our overnight stay the owners are extremely friendly and made time for a chat which was a nice touch the breakfast was excellent as was the stay overall.We would highly recomend this accomodation amazing views and quiet location but still close to the center of Cheltenham.Thankyou.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Christine B | Mon 16th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


Detmore House- Rating 5/5

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay, your home is beautiful. It’s one of the best bed and breakfast experiences we have had. The bedrooms were wonderful and the breakfast excellent.

Reviewer:Frances D | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 10 months ago


All the comforts required for a base to explore the Cotswolds - Rating 5/5

A magnificent period house in an exquisite tranquil setting.We stayed for two nights in a room with a lovely view over the garden and paddock..The room was large and spacious and very comfortable.The hosts were very welcoming, helpful, and friendly.Breakfast was excellent.We were on a two day break to explore the Cotswolds by car.If we visit the area again we will certainly stay here.

Reviewer:Colin P | Sun 27th May 2018 | 11 months ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in an ideal location on the outskirts of Cheltenham with lovely views across open countryside. Our room (Oak) was large and very comfortable with a very smart bathroom. The hosts could not have been more helpful or friendly. Excellent breakfasts. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Phillip B | Tue 22nd May 2018 | 12 months ago


Comfortable Stay - Rating 5/5

This family offer a very warm welcome and good communication. The house and rooms are very nicely appointed and a great place to relax looking up onto the cotswold hills. Beautiful breakfast with quality products. First class

Response

Hello Peter, Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Peter D | Fri 18th May 2018 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in a lovely setting on the outskirts of Cheltenham. The multi-period house has a great atmosphere, super sized well equipped rooms and host Jill, makes you feel very welcome.Great location for Cheltenham, Gloucester and the western Cotswolds.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:John F | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 1 year ago


Beautiful Country House with Fabulous Breakfast - Rating 5/5

This is a beautiful country house, very comfortably furnished and well equipped. The fresh fruit salad with fresh yoghurt was perfect, along with a varied choice of cooked breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Jeffrey Z | Mon 11th Dec 2017 | 1 year ago


A refuge - Rating 5/5

Mine was a very quick one night stand. However I was greeted in a very friendly way by the owner and her dog. The room was lovely, warm and inviting. Bags of hot water and a perfect breakfast

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Michael O | Wed 15th Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Stay during 2017-10-27 to 2017-10-29 - Rating 5/5

Very beautiful location. So quite. Service is perfect. Kind staff. Rich breakfast. Room is clean and tidy. Recommend this beautiful place. Keep improving Detmore.

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Mohamed A | Mon 30th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Picturesque and convenient location away from busy local roads that is ideal for an overnight stay or a longer duration. Comfortable and characterful rooms with plenty of light and far-reaching views. Generous breakfast is delicious. The building itself has a lengthy and interesting history too (ask the owners). We'd happily recommend this B&B and would stay again.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Nigel S | Sat 30th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Simply Fantastic - Rating 5/5

This was my second visit to Detmore House, once again everything was perfect. It is situated ideally for many great attractions, a particular appeal is the long private drive and secluded parking,ideal as I was travelling in a valuable Vintage car to visit the Prescott Speed Hill Climb. The room was great with all sorts of thoughtful touches. Once again breakfast was first class. I will certainly book again for next years events.

Response

Thanks very much for your kind review

Reviewer:Neil S | Mon 7th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Detmore House a beautiful place to stay. - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Detmore House beautful quiet but still close to many stunning villages and nice places to eat. We stayed in the Oak room the bed was very comfortable and the room and bathroom lovely and spacious with lovely views. Hugh and Gill were lovely hosts and made us feel very welcome and at home. We will definately stay again. Brian and Maria x

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Maria G | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Friends on a spotting trip - Rating 5/5

Good communication, wonderful house and garden. Decent breakfast. A good stay!

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Gert T | Tue 18th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Surprise! Surprise! - Rating 4/5

I was very surprised to find we were staying in someone's own place of residence - to be greeted by someone carrying a baby, although very warmly greeted, was a bit of shock.That said it was a spotless accommodation, comfortable, good sized room with magnificent views.We shared the breakfast table with two lovely American visitors. The company and food was excellent.The meal was well cooked and we were asked if we wanted more.We were given ample advice about places to eat and enjoyed the 45 minute walk into Cheltenham.

Response

Hello ScottThank you for your review.Yes we are a Family run Bed & Breakfasts where we welcome guests into our home and now that we have an adorable Grandson (Sam) he will often be found in my arms before his Mother whisks him away.

Reviewer:Scott B | Mon 26th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Should be Delightful want More - Rating 5/5

From the moment you enter the drive with the well kept grounds, you have all the indication you need as to the high quality of Detmore. On entering the quality of the tasteful furnishings give you an idea of the thoughts of your hosts (never had a hostess so curvy serving such a good breakfast though!) We stayed in the Oak room, spacious, socomfortable, quality linen, toiletries and furnishing, yet homely and warm. Cant even nit pick if we wanted too. Views over Cotswolds and wild life all roundJill and Hugh's dog can be seen laying down content, he's no fool you will be joining him metaphorically i promise!We will return

Reviewer:David S | Tue 25th Apr 2017 | 2 years ago


Lovely B and B - Rating 5/5

We stayed at Detmore House for The Cheltenham Festival, and we couldn't have been happier! Our twin room was beautiful and the breakfast was delicious. Hugh and Jill are very friendly, and all in all, it was a lovely stay. Highly recommended!!

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Simon S | Thu 23rd Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


detmore house stay march 2017 - Rating 4/5

Lovely B&B, close to Cheltenham centre and Cotswold.Modern bright room - exceptional cleanGreat breakfast

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Vicki M | Tue 21st Mar 2017 | 2 years ago


One Night Break - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is ideal for a short break.Our room was a good size with a very comfortable super king bed and lovely views from the window.There were tea and coffee facilities in the room.The bathroom was well stocked with towels and toiletries.We had also arranged to arrive before the official check in time of 3.30 pm and our room was ready even though we went straight out.There was a good selection for breakfast.All in all we have no complaints and will try to visit again in the future.

Reviewer:Mr. John R | Thu 13th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

Thank you for your kind hospitality!Room was very well equipped and clean. Breakfast was fantastic!Highly recommend to any visitor.

Reviewer:Mark O | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely place to stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay, very convenient for Charlton kings and Cheltenham but the views and quiet surroundings made you feel miles away! The hosts were very accomodating, rooms were lovely and breakfast was excellent. We would stay again!

Reviewer:Mrs. Clare D | Tue 27th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Quiet comfort.- Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome and accommodating reception. The views and location are gorgeous and the owners charming. The room had everything we needed and breakfasts were hearty and delicious. Would definitely stay again.

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Ann Marie K | Tue 20th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Wonderful stay at Detmore House which gave us an opportunity to explore Cheltenham and srrounding area. Owners so helpful, we really enjoyed breakfast at the communal table which encourage interesting talks with other guests

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Alan W | Sat 13th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Absolutely Fantastic - Rating 5/5

What a fantastic place.beautiful location, great hosts and lovely rooms. It has to be the best equiped room I have ever stopped in with all sorts of thoughtful details like an iron and ironing board even down to things like a sewing kit and shoe horn.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Mr. Neil S | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


What a lovely experience.- Rating 5/5

A welcoming family, a wonderfully scenic and peaceful setting, a luxurious room and a superb breakfast. We'd definitely visit again and highly recommend Detmore House.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review

Reviewer:Michelle H | Mon 1st Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful, restful country retreat - Rating 5/5

Detmore House was everything the notices promised it would be.Beautiful views of the Cotswolds.Tranquil country location very close to Cheltenham.Breakfast in the elegant dining area was a fine way to fortify oneself for hiking or visiting Cheltenham's shops.Slept well each night listening to the "noise"of local fauna.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewer:Charles L | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Week\'s Holiday - Rating 5/5

Very nice, spacious and comfortable room;excellent breakfasts that set us up for the day;quiet location yet convenient for main routes;friendly welcome;would stay again.

Response

Thank you very much for your kind review

Reviewer:Phil N | Sun 3rd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Nice Room, Cozy Bed, Nice Breakfast - Rating 5/5

Nothing to say but Great Stay. I will be back to stay at Detmore House when we're in Cotswold. If you find the hotel to stay in Cotswold. Just book this hotel.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Kititat M | Wed 22nd Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Cotswolds weekend - Rating 4/5

Large comfortable room with splendid views. Excellent breakfast. Thoughtful hosts who provided helpful advice on places to visit during our Cotswolds weekend.

Response

Thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mark C | Mon 6th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A Great stay , Lovely house and gardens and a great welcome , wish we could have stayed longer

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mitchell C | Sun 5th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Diet ore House - Rating 5/5

Thank you for the warm welcome, peaceful and comfortable room and delicious breakfast. I enjoyed my stay at your lovely B and B.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Helen S | Mon 9th May 2016 | 3 years ago


Stopover while walking the Cotswold way - Rating 5/5

A brief overnight stopover while walking the Cotswold wold. Loveley B&B. 15 minute walk from the path, peaceful spot set back from the road and a lovely B&B. Breakfast was also great !

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Sun 1st May 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is a lovely B&B, located very centrally for visiting the Cotswolds. We enjoyed a 4 night stay in April in the Maple Room, which is a very light and comfortable room.Very clean, with all amenities you might need. Breakfasts are great with various choices, fresh fruit and fresh juice.Good pubs and restaurants in the neighbourhood for a drink or a meal.Gill is a very kind and good host.We would surely stay here again if the occasion arises.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Mrs. Frances H | Sat 23rd Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay! - Rating 4/5

Good space, clean rooms particularly the carpet and a wonderful view!

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Deepak A | Wed 6th Apr 2016 | 3 years ago


Serene B&B in Charlton Kings - Rating 4/5

We had a lovely, calm stay at Detmore House and nice country walks nearby. Lovely big room with great views and nice huge bed. Gill catered for a dairy/gluten intolerance and was very helpful.Would stay again.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Ms. Jane D | Thu 24th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Another fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

Super destination. Food is fantastic, made to very welcome. Highly recommended.

Response

Hi Anthony, thank you for your kind review, I love race week, such a wonderful atmosphere. Hopefully see you next year. Best wishes

Reviewer:Anthony V | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

As ever a lovely stay at Detmore, elegant rooms, great location and superb breakfast

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Susan-R | Wed 9th Mar 2016 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable and comfortable stay;the owners were welcoming and provided an excellent breakfast. We traveled with small children;our daughter was very upset to leave.

Reviewer:Ryan O | Sat 2nd Jan 2016 | 3 years ago


Great value and a lovely stay with great hosts - Rating 5/5

Very clean and tidy rooms which are equipped equally as well. Very quite which was great. Comfortable beds with spotless bedding.Breakfast was really nice with a good selection and option for extra on your plate with no further cost. Fantastic. Would recommend stopping here for anybody wanting to be visiting the area. For the price the quality is far better than equivalent stay in a nearby hotel.

Reviewer:Kevin C | Sun 13th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent - Rating 4/5

Really enjoyed our stay.Room was lovely and was beautifully presented. Ditto houseBreakfast was a delight and advice re supper was gratefully receivedPhil

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Philip M | Sat 28th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Friday night with Jools Holland - Rating 5/5

Spent Friday night with 2 girlfriends at the Jools Holland concert in Cheltenham.Found this lovely B&B enabling us to have a drink and not worry about the driving home late at night.Room was spacious, quiet,comfortable, clean, warmwith a lovely view, what more could we ask for.... oh and the breakfast was fabulous. Thank you very much for a lovely stay over.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs. Lesley T | Sun 22nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Short break in cotswolds - Rating 5/5

Detmore House certainly lived up to the excellent reviews we had read before staying. A lovely private setting with wonderful views from our room(oak)which was huge and decorated and furnished to a high standard.We were shown the other rooms and they are all just as impressive.Brilliant breakfasts.Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas M | Wed 11th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Tranquility after a stressful day. - Rating 5/5

We arrived and was met with a warm welcome to a wonderful home. Our 1 night stay was peaceful in luxurious comfort. Breakfast was wonderful too.

Reviewer:Christopher W | Tue 3rd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Value - Rating 5/5

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and would thoroughly recommend the experience. Lovely setting and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:Jeremy C | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Detmore House B&B - Rating 5/5

It is rare to find such a peaceful, high quality B&B. The Kilminster's are very friendly and make your stay a joy. I have stayed here regularly for over 10 years.Alan

Reviewer:Alan-R | Fri 2nd Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely place, lovely people - Rating 5/5

Fantastic Bed and Breakfast! Would definitely recommend and stay there again :)

Reviewer:Frederic S | Sun 30th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Three nights in Charlton Kings - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is a lovely building sat at the end of a long driveway away from the A40. It has a calm, serene atmosphere that instantly de-stresses you. Our room was comfortable and well-equipped with plenty of space. The bathroom was particularly well planned with a huge shower. The view from the window was delightful looking out over the countryside. The owners were very helpful and friendly and we always felt at home and comfortable. Breakfast was well prepared and delicious. We particularly liked the bacon which was some of the best we have ever eaten. There was no need to eat until later in the afternoon!Overall, Detmore House is an excellent place to stay and I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wanting to enjoy a very beautiful part of the world.

Response

What a lovely review, thank you for taking the time to write this.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark N | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Really comfortable - Rating 4/5

Just what we needed. Thanks

Reviewer:Trevor L | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


delightful detmore - Rating 5/5

a gorgeous house with an intriguing history. Detmore is situated in peaceful grounds and is a joy to return to after a Cotswold walk. The hospitality is good and the breakfasts ideal

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:John C | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


What a lovely place to stay! - Rating 5/5

We were staying for the night in Cheltenham to celebrate a friend's birthday and we felt very lucky to have found such a lovely place to stay.The offer of a pot of tea and home-made cake in the drawing room made us feel very spoilt and the bedroom was very comfortable with lots of nice touches.Just a couple of miles from the city centre (a short taxi ride)and a beautiful and very peaceful location, just off the main road.Would highly recommend.Many thanks for your hospitality.

Response

Thank you for your very kind review

Reviewer:Jo K | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Detmore House Cheltenham- Rating 5/5

Very warm welcome. Exceptionally clean and also in a beautiful peaceful setting. I would recommend Detmore House to anyone

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.

Reviewer:Diane-R | Thu 28th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Bank holiday break- Rating 5/5

An extremely comfortable stay in quiet surroundings. Our room had everything we needed and more. Thoroughly enjoyed the delicious breakfasts. With our kind thanks. Peter and Margaret

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mrs. Margaret A | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely Stay - Rating 5/5

As ever a very pleasant stay at Detmore.Lovely room, such comfortable bed and great breakfast

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Susan-R | Fri 22nd May 2015 | 3 years ago


Blissful days - Rating 5/5

Loved the location. Poised garden and cloft from room.B&B staff were gentle and friendly.Breakfast - really good.The recent makeover of the rooms - excellent and very relaxing. Bed was so relaxing.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Yasuhisa K | Tue 5th May 2015 | 4 years ago


Excellent B and B with friendly hosts. - Rating 5/5

Good location in a quiet area of Cheltenham but only a short drive to the centre.Room was bright and vey clean with good facilities.Excellent choice of freshly prepared breakfast.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Helen P | Sun 26th Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Two days break - Rating 4/5

A very warm welcome from Gill awaited us, and a cuppa in the beautiful lounge was very welcome. This is a beautiful house set in its own grounds with lovely views of our beautiful countryside. A really good base for the Cotswolds.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs. Anne M | Thu 23rd Apr 2015 | 4 years ago


Absolutely wonderful - Rating 5/5

Hands down the most beautiful B&B I've stayed in. Blissfully quiet, wonderful views of the Cotswolds, a room that puts most 5* hotels to shame and a fantastic breakfast with lots of options too. Staff were very friendly and welcoming I won't need to browse the next time I'm staying in Cheltenham.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Reviewer:Mr. KIERIN B | Sun 8th Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Superb- Rating 5/5

We can not fault anything from our stay at Detmore House.Gill &staff were all very welcoming &friendly, rooms spotlessly clean &beautifully decorated, bathroom very luxurious &breakfast absolutely top notch. As a chef myself I incredibly impressed with the quality of the ingredients used &the presentation.Overall a very pleasurable stay and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend Detmore to everyone.

Response

What an amazing review, thanks you so much.

Reviewer:Laura R | Mon 2nd Mar 2015 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay- Rating 5/5

I travelled with my daughter for England hockey training. What a lovely place to stay. They even catered for my daughter's training diet for breakfast too. Will definitely stay there again soon

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review.

Reviewer:Lisa B | Sat 24th Jan 2015 | 4 years ago


Detmore house - Rating 5/5

I wanted peace, quiet, and excellent quality accommodation and got all three !Gill is the epitome of helpfulness and her breakfasts are stunning. ( but not for the faint hearted !)Can,t fault Detmore House. Oh that all B and B,s were like this one !

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Eric T | Thu 27th Nov 2014 | 4 years ago


The best B&B on our tour of England - Rating 5/5

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at the Detmore House. The room was large and nicely appointed. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large and had a nice soaking tub.Breakfasts were top notch. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful. We stayed in five B&Bs during our visit to England and this was by far the best!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Ken S | Wed 15th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

What a beautiful place to stay. Detmore House is in the countryside - we saw squirrels and deer from our window, yet it is still a very close base from which to explore Cheltenham. We had a very warm welcome, our room was lovely and breakfast was amazing.I thoroughly recommend staying here;you will have a lovely stay.

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Miss. Jane K | Sun 12th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Regular Visitor - Excellent as laways - Rating 5/5

Title says it all. Rooms are of a very high standard as is the breakfast. Hosts are friendly and helpful. A real gem!!!

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:John-R | Wed 1st Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely stay at Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Detmore House must be one of the best B&B's we have stayed in. The room was really confortable, the breakfast was everything you could possibly ask for and the position down a long drive meant that it felt like it was in the middle of the countryside, whilst in fact it was very conveniently located. Many thanks.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mr. Brian M | Thu 25th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Superb accommodation, excellent breakfasts and a genuinely friendly and welcoming owner.Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mr. Laurence T | Sun 14th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 4/5

Lovely peaceful setting with very good facilities

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mrs Patricia L | Mon 8th Sep 2014 | 4 years ago


Fantastic stay - Rating 5/5

We spent two nights at Detmore House and had a great time. The room was wonderful, breakfast was excellent. We´d like to stay there again.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mr. Dr. Peter B | Mon 11th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Idyllic B & B - Rating 5/5

Wonderful luxurious rooms in a beautiful period house.Excellent breakfast too!

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Beverley H | Sun 13th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


review of stay - Rating 4/5

looked after well. Lovely rooms, and good breakfast. Would recommend to friends and family.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jean G | Sun 13th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Lovely lovely room with really comfortable beds. Good breakfast. Beautiful house.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Ms. Deanne P | Thu 10th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

A serene house in delightful, peaceful surroundings. We had an excellent and spacious room, well-supplied with extras such as hairdryer, sewing kit etc.Breakfast was a real treat!

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Vanessa C | Tue 1st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


June 2014 - Rating 5/5

Another lovely stay at Detmore House

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Susan Bramley-R | Wed 18th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Lovely place, superb setting, great rooms and delicious breakfast.Looking forward to staying again

Response

Thank you for you kind review, look forward to greeting you again.

Reviewer:Susan B | Fri 23rd May 2014 | 4 years ago


Great night's stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely house, beautifully clean and good host.

Response

Thanks you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Matt C | Mon 12th May 2014 | 5 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 4/5

Very comfortable with a friendly welcome, generous cuppa with cake and nicely arranged room.Convenient for Cheltenham and lovely views of the hills.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:John W | Fri 2nd May 2014 | 5 years ago


Great Stay - Rating 5/5

We had a fantastic time - both the house and surroundings were lovely.We couldn't fault the room and the breakfasts were excellent.We would certainly recommend staying at this establishment and hope to return ourselves soon.

Response

Many thanks for your kind review.

Reviewer:Miss. Debbie G | Tue 29th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is a beautiful, comfortable and spotless B&B in lovely surroundings. The breakfasts are superb and Gill is very helpful but also allows visitors their own space. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Ray B | Sun 27th Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Luxury - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in a beautiful peaceful setting, yet close to Cheltenham and any number of Cotswolds attractions.Our room was comfortable and lovely;breakfasts were great.We'll tell others and hope to return ourselves.Many thanks!

Reviewer:Ms. Erica G | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Luxury - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in a beautiful peaceful setting, yet close to Cheltenham and any number of Cotswolds attractions.Our room was comfortable and lovely;breakfasts were great.We'll tell others and hope to return ourselves.Many thanks!

Response

Thank you so much for your kind review

Reviewer:Ms. Erica G | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Luxury - Rating 5/5

Detmore House is in a beautiful peaceful setting, yet close to Cheltenham and any number of Cotswolds attractions.Our room was comfortable and lovely;breakfasts were great.We'll tell others and hope to return ourselves.Many thanks!

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Ms. Erica G | Tue 22nd Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


B&B on Cotswold way - Rating 5/5

Wonderful experience. Warm and friendly welcome, fantastic food, lovely room and building. Would defo stay again if in the area. Highly recommended.Thanks for a great stay.

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Mon 21st Apr 2014 | 5 years ago


Super - Rating 5/5

Wonderful accomodation in a beautiful tranquil setting.Made to feel very welcome.Food and room excellent.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Paul H | Tue 11th Feb 2014 | 5 years ago


A little piece of Heaven - Rating 5/5

Pure delight from the moment you turn up the winding driveway to the wonderful house to receive your welcome. Superbly quiet location but so convenient for both the town and the racecourse.Delightful rooms, lounge and breakfast is amongst the very best I have had and served with the log burner alongside. Already booked up for next year! Chris

Reviewer:Mr Chris G | Mon 18th Nov 2013 | 5 years ago


Luxury - Rating 4/5

With easy access to the A40 we discovered a glorious rural retreat.The most beautiful room with oh-so-comfy super king size bed - a real taste of luxury.It was lovely to have a sofa seating area within our room to relax, watch TV and read from.Amazing views of the surrounding countryside - a wonderful location.Breakfast was amazing, cooked to perfection and a range to suit all tastes.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs. Julie K | Fri 1st Nov 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We recently stayed for 3 nights in the 'Oak' room. Huge room, gorgeous bathroom with double shower and deep roll top bath. Room came with a sofa and arm chair. Views over the valley were superb. Very quiet even though all rooms were occupied. Breakfast was extremely good, cooked to order so nice and hot. Our hosts were both very attentive but not intrusive. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We definitely recommend Detmore Houes.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Peter P | Tue 22nd Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


comfortable - Rating 4/5

comfortable and efficient

Response

Thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mr. Dave H | Fri 18th Oct 2013 | 5 years ago


All smiles - Rating 5/5

Once again we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay.It was good to meet our hosts again and to enjoy their hospitality.The standard of room was excellent and we hope to stay again sometime

Response

It was lovely to greet you again and thank you for your review.

Reviewer:Mr. John R H | Sun 8th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay at Detmore House - it is an absolute jewel.Phil Holliday, New Zealand

Response

Thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mr. Philip H | Sun 14th Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


- Rating 5/5

Very nice room.Quiet.Really excellent breakfast.Good value.Broadband very slow but im told that is being improved.

Response

Thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mr. Philip W | Wed 3rd Jul 2013 | 5 years ago


Best BnB- Rating 5/5

Very nice room, services, food and all

Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review

Reviewer:Mr. Hazian M | Sat 22nd Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two nights when the weather had turned cool and windy but Detmore House was warm and comfortable. Oak Room has a lovely outlook and is very spacious. Food was good and plentiful.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Paul R | Sat 25th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Peaceful - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room and outlook. I really enjoy staying here

Response

Lovely to meet you again, hope your enjoyed the rest of your trip and thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Mrs. Patricia B | Sun 19th May 2013 | 6 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Lovely rooms, welcome and hospitality. Really enjoyed our stay and hope we can repeat the experience next year.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Anthony V | Fri 26th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Visit to the Cotswolds. - Rating 5/5

Beautiful Central location, Friendly Welcome, First Class Accommodation, Breakfast was Excellent and Plentiful, we really enjoyed our stay, and would certainly return again.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. John B | Thu 25th Apr 2013 | 6 years ago


Definitely recommended - Rating 5/5

Great stay. Lovely room (Beech room) and we were well looked after by Gill. Superb breakfasts. Fantastic location.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely having you to stay with your delightful girls and their hundreds of well behaved teddies.

Reviewer:Mrs. Sandra D | Tue 12th Feb 2013 | 6 years ago


Recent stay - Rating 5/5

Great experience from making the phone call to enquire about a stay, made very welcome on arrival.Room clean, warm and modern - perfect.Breakfast wonderful.Will be certainly stay here again in the future.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, hope you had a sucessful day and look for to greeting you again in the future.

Reviewer:Suzanne M | Mon 28th Jan 2013 | 6 years ago


Everything perfect - Rating 5/5

Everything was just perfect. Hope to come back soon. Greetings from Germany. Johannes and Tina

Response

Thank you for your lovely review, have a wonderful Christmas and all the very best for 2013.

Reviewer:Mr. Johannes K | Thu 20th Dec 2012 | 6 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

We loved our stay at Detmore house - the room was beautiful and immaculate, and the breakfast was delicious. It is good value for money and we would stay again.

Response

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

Reviewer:Miss. Rebecca H | Mon 3rd Dec 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Peaceful, comfortable, with beautiful views. Delicious breakfast. Highly recommended.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, look forward to greeting you again in the future.

Reviewer:Sarah C | Mon 26th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


One of the best B&B - Rating 5/5

Highly recommend this lovely house, beautiful large room and very good breakfast, very warm welcome.A Bousquet

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mr. Michel B | Sun 26th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely, friendly comfortable stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely stay. The king size beds were comfortable. The room &bathroom were clean &beautifully decorated. The host was very friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were good quality.We will recommend Detmore.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review

Reviewer:Mrs. Yvette E | Fri 17th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Top Quality B &B - Rating 5/5

Booked in for one night after searching for hotels in the area and reviews on TripadvisorThis property is on the A40 but do not allow that to worry you. You drive up a long private entrance to the property which appeared to be a quality property set in large grounds with a magnificent garden.I had the Maple Room, overlooking the gardens, with twin beds. It had a 24"(?) flat screen TV with all the Freeview channels with first class reception. The room size was more than adequate, with two small easy chairs and a desk plus chair for the tea/coffee facilities and to place a laptop. There was a complementary bottle of water and Wi-Fi was free in the room.The bathroom was well presented with a shower, no bath and included flannels.There was no noise inside or outside the property and I had a very peaceful night.When registering in, you have to select what you want for breakfast, there is a very wide choice and indicate the time you required it. The breakfast was excellent one of the best "silver service"breakfasts I have had.All in all, this was a top class B&B and I could not see where they could make any improvement. I would certainly stay again if in the area.

Response

Thank you for your kind review and glad you enjoyed it here.

Reviewer:Mr. David P | Fri 10th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent- Rating 5/5

Beautiful setting, very comfy bed, fabulous host.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Ms. Pamela C | Tue 7th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Lovely! - Rating 4/5

My partner and I had a very pleasant stay at this great location. A really nice find, just enough away from the town to be quiet and secluded, but close enough to be convenient.The house really is lovely - full of character and interesting features. Our room was very nice indeed. Finished to a high standard, tastefully decorated, and comfortably furnished. The iPod dock was a nice touch, and we both found the bed to be very comfortable.Breakfast was ordered in advance, and we had a nice selection to choose from, including some really lovely fruits, and the usual cereals etc.The owners are lovely, very accommodating, and more than happy to help out with recommendations for places to eat or things to see and do locally. We were made to feel very welcome.If we were in the area again we'd definitely stay again.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to greeting you again.

Reviewer:Mr. Nicholas C | Thu 26th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


Great experience! - Rating 5/5

Lovely setting, very kind reception, beautiful room and lovely breakfast! Didn't really want to leave:-)

Response

Thank you for your lovely review, you are very kind.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael E | Thu 19th Jul 2012 | 6 years ago


A warm welcome in a beautiful setting. - Rating 5/5

I stayed here for one night with a friend whilst walking The Cotswold Way.We were given a warm welcome by Gill and shown to a spacious and tastefully decorated room which overlooked the garden.Gill gave us tea and homemade cake in the guest lounge overlooking the garden and hills beyond which was a lovely touch.She also booked us a table at a nearby pub and drove us and some other guests there which we were very grateful for.Breakfast was ample with plenty of cereals, fruit, yoghurts, toast and jams and a decent cooked selection which you choose on arrival.This was a gem and I would highly recommend it.

Response

Thank you for a lovely review, it's always good to receive them. Our pursuit in making our guests feel welcome,relaxed and giving them value for money, whilst not compromising on quality and comfort has paid off, as we have just received aGold Award by Quality in Tourism. Yeh!!

Reviewer:Ms. DeniseG | Sat 30th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


A little gem! - Rating 5/5

We recently had an amazing and relaxing stay here. We had the oak room which was very spacious and spotlessly clean. We thought the ammenities, breakfast and location were outstanding and would highly recommend it.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review and very pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Reviewer:Mrs. Alison F | Wed 27th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


A Great Location - Rating 4/5

Very peaceful, Sorry I took the torch by mistake please E-mail address, I shall post it back to you, Many thanks,

Response

Thank you for the review, look forward to receiving the torch in due course. Hope the marathon went well.

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen B | Mon 25th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly reccomend - Rating 5/5

We were exremely warmly welcomed at Detmore house, our hosts were most gracious and helpful. The accomodation is first class, it would beat many 5* hotels. Fantastic

Response

What a lovely review, thank you very much.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris W | Wed 20th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable and spacious room. Great breakfast and very welcoming and helpfull hosts.

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mrs. Tineke H | Tue 19th Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


review - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable place to stay. We were made very welcome. The room was comfortable and the breakfast delicious

Response

Many thanks for your kind review

Reviewer:Dr. David B | Wed 23rd May 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

A true 5 star ! Can say no more

Response

Thank you for your kind review, I hope you had an enjoyable day at Prescott with your amazing car

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew H | Sat 5th May 2012 | 7 years ago


Just Like Home - Rating 5/5

Dentmore house was a fantastic find!I have no reason to want to stay anywhere else next time I stay in Cheltenham. Accomadation was excellent, the breakfast fantastic and the service was perfect.Lovely house surrounded by beautiful countryside, a view of the chickens that supplied our breakfast and feeling sucluded made for a relaxing stay.

Response

What a lovely review, thank you so much for taking the time to write this.

Reviewer:Mr. Richard F | Fri 20th Apr 2012 | 7 years ago


Worth A Gold Award!!! - Rating 5/5

Stayed here before and was just as impressed with the quality. Due to the time of year there were ladybirds hibernating in the window frame of the bathroom but this added to the character of the house and room for us. The food was great, the room was outstanding and showed perfect attention to detail. The owners are so friendly and made us feel so welcome, engaged us in conversations and provided good tips for things to do in the area. Loved it thank you very much.

Response

Thank you for your lovely review.We love greeting new guests and making them feel at home, and we particularly love welcoming back familiar faces. Hopefully when you come back in July those annoying little critters will be on their vacation back out in the garden.

Reviewer:Mr. William H | Mon 20th Feb 2012 | 7 years ago


Wonderful break - Rating 5/5

We were having a four day break without the children and wanted something peaceful and relaxing.We found it.From the moment we arrived we were made to feel welcome with a pot of tea and cake served in the Drawing Room.We stayed in the Oak Room which was very spacious, with wonderful bathroom and stunning views.The breakfasts every morning were delicious.Gill and Hugh were very friendly and helpful.Would highly recommend this stunning 5 star B&B.

Response

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and what a lovely review to receive, thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. Glen R | Sat 18th Feb 2012 | 7 years ago


A real treat - Rating 5/5

Great stay at Detmore House. We all enjoyed the experience tremendously.

Response

Thank you for your kind comments.

Reviewer:Mr. Christophe G | Tue 14th Feb 2012 | 7 years ago


Excellent! - Rating 5/5

Stunning location with beautifully decorated and furnished rooms. A little bit of luxury tucked away in a gorgeous setting. Really warm welcome from the owners and fantastic breakfast! Highly recommend.

Response

Thank you for your kind review.

Reviewer:Mrs. Samantha W | Sun 12th Feb 2012 | 7 years ago


Detmore House - Rating 5/5

My wife and I recently spent 4 nights at Detmore house We originally booked for two njghts but extended to 4 on the second day. We can truthfully say that it is the best B &B that we have ever stayed in. The setting is delightful with panoramic views yet conveniently located and very peaceful. The room was spacious, bright and well appointed. The host and hostess were friendly and helpful and the service was first class and unobstusive. We would thoroughly recommend Detmore House.

Response

Thank you for your kind words

Reviewer:Dr. Robert (bob) D | Wed 23rd Nov 2011 | 7 years ago


Detmore revisited - Rating 5/5

Once again we enjoyed our stay immensely.The welcome we received was warm and friendly and Mrs. Kilminster made us feel at home. The room was superb, beautifully appointed without being over-poweringly so.We appreciatd the hospitality tray being replenished. The breakfasts were even better than at our previous stays and ther choice was better. We look forward to our next visit.

Response

Great seeing you again and thank you for your kind words.

Reviewer:Mr. John H | Mon 21st Nov 2011 | 7 years ago


Excellent stay. - Rating 5/5

Although not far from a main road, you wouldn't guess once at the house. Down a long drive, it was quiet, with a lovely outlook. Very smart and comfortable room. Friendly and helpful. A little spot of luxury whilst tramping the Cotswold Way.

Response

Thank you for your review, we do think we have the best of both worlds here, with lovely views and countryside feel, super pub just down the road, and Cheltenham Town on our doorstep.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pam W | Mon 31st Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Easy and quiet stay - Rating 4/5

Really nice place to stay for a few days. Very quiet and unhurried. Gill is the perfect 'host' and provides a good breakfast and friendly chat and advice for places to eat etc.The room was very clean and tidy, with modern furniture and smashing bathroom. Own temperature controls and plenty of bedding.

Response

Thank you for your kind review, I do appreciate the time people take in doing this.My aim is to make my guests stay as perfect as possible, offering complimentary tea and cake on arrival, all the little extras in the room, beside the hospitality tray, such as bottled water, flowers and a fruit bowl. Glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to greeting you again in the future. Kind Regards Gill

Reviewer:Mr. Charles T | Thu 27th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Jean from Somerset - Rating 5/5

A beautiful house with excellent high quality accommodation. Very comfortable beds, fresh, airy elegant decor - attention to every detail.Delicious breakfasts and a warm welcome.Thank you Gill &Hugh - we will be back!

Response

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to greeting you again in the future.Regards Gill.

Reviewer:Mrs. JeanL | Tue 11th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Brilliant - Rating 5/5

A fantastic place to stay

Response

Thank you for your kind review

Reviewer:Mr. Robert K | Sat 27th Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Haven of tranquility - Rating 5/5

Heavenly location, luxurious rooms and fantastic food.Surely the best location to have a relaxing weekend, and enjoy all that Cheltenham and the surrounding Cotswolds has to offer in such a welcoming place.Many thanksPeter Bascombe

Response

Thank you so much for your kind words.

Reviewer:Mr. Peter B | Tue 23rd Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Quintessentially English - Rating 5/5

I had asked for something quintessentially English to show some Canadian friends. This was it! It included great food, great rooms and great views. It was everything we wanted

Response

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.I hope your guests enjoyed the rest of their holiday. Kind RegardsGill

Reviewer:Mr. John G | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


Book Online